Wishing everyone a Happy & Safe 4th of July!

Dasha feeling patriotic…

FullSizeRender (26)

Dakota feeling patriotic…

FullSizeRender (27)

It was a rough morning for me. I couldn’t get out of bed this morning, as I wasn’t feeling all that well. Darn allergies and sinuses! The pollen has been HORRIBLE here lately. Then on top of that it was raining and storming here, which never makes it easy to get out of bed!

By the time I was ready to workout, it had stopped raining, but it didn’t look very promising out there still…

IMG_2177

It took me until this afternoon to FINALLY get my run in. Thank you energize…

FullSizeRender (25)

Unfortunately, it didn’t go as planned either! I was SUPPOSED to do speed work today, but due to the weather I ended up doing my run inside on this…

IMG_2199

…and we ALL know how I feel about running on the treadmill.

Today’s run was supposed to be a backwards ladder with 200 meter recovery in between for a total of 2.51 miles running. Since I was on the treadmill and wasn’t feeling well, I decided to just run the 2.51 miles as fast as I could without a break.

I ended up finishing the 2.51 miles in 19:43 for a 7:51 pace…

IMG_2189

…as you can tell, that was enough for me for today! I was DONE! I am happy that I at least got the miles in, even if they weren’t exactly as planned, because honestly I didn’t feel like doing ANY! So, I am proud of myself for at least doing something!

I began with 15 minutes of walking for a warm-up and did 15 minutes walking for a cool down as well.

Then I went upstairs and enjoyed my recover while I did some stretching and foam rolling…

IMG_2202

I don’t like foam rolling because it HURTS, but it makes everything feel so much better later! 🙂

After a walk with the pups and a shower, it was time to refuel with a patriotic Shakeology!

IMG_2223

Happy 4th of July!

Day 7 — COMPLETE! (Sort of!) 

Next run is Thursday!

Thank you for reading and following my journey to the Chicago and Kansas City Marathons!